Being on this ship is all about avoiding temptation.  There are candy, cakes, cream puffs, ice cream, chips, delicious little bowls of ramen noodles (the good kind most folks will only find at an Asian market)…. you name it, we got it.  Yet amazingly I have so much more willpower than if, say, I was home and my wife had bought me a pint of Ben & Jerry’s.  I think it’s because we only see each other  on this ship every few months, so changes in peoples appearance are very noticeable.  A lot of these guys knew me when I was at 260 pounds (118 kilos) and they always comment on how amazed they are that I not only lost 70 lbs, but have kept it off for so long.  Others I know have lost, but promptly gained it back and more.  That is the magic of a paleo lifestyle.  It is a long term, livable solution to weight troubles.  I don’t ever preach to anyone here, but some have tried to kick the carbs after seeing my results.  And maybe it’s the fact that I’ve always kind of been on the fringes that gives me just a little pleasure in being an individual – the one guy quietly snacking on some olives with balsamic vinegar while everyone else dives into the pastries.  Brushing my teeth next to a guy who looks like I did a couple years back is a powerful reminder of how far I’ve come, and how important it is to stay the course.

I’m working nights, so my meals are kind or reversed – leftover dinner for breakfast, breakfast before bed. Yesterday went like this:

  • Black coffee – 3 cups (at least)
  • 10:30 pm – Workout A from the Gym Junkies blog
  • 11:30 pm – 12 meatballs (no pasta) with 2 slices of provolone melted on top
  • 2:00 am – 6 oz. wild salmon, 6 Spanish olives, 2-3 tbsp olive oil (didn’t measure, just poured)
  • 5:30 am – 1/2 cup scrambled eggs, 3 oz. spiral cut ham, 2 slices bacon with about 2 tbsp ketchup

I only ended up sleeping about seven hours, but I was very rested.  I got up and went to the outside deck to catch a couple hours of sunlight (yay vitamin D!).  After the sun set I headed inside for a quick circuit of 30 pushups, 20 bodyweight squats, 20 pushups, 15 squats, 1 minute front plank, and side planks of 30 seconds each.  Breakfast was a big bowl of fajita chicken with bell peppers smothered in about 1/3 cup of Wholly Guacamole (the only kind I will eat if my wife doesn’t make it fresh) and 2 tbsp salsa.  No coffee this morning, only green tea.

Until next time!

