No, I’m not talking about scraping moldy bread for penicillin,  I’m talking good old-fashioned chicken soup.

The whole family is sick, and to be honest, I didn’t want to eat anything at all yesterday.  Unfortunately I am one of those poor souls cursed with a wife so beautiful that it is impossible to deny her anything, so when she asked in her sickliest voice, “Could you please make your chicken soup?”, I had no choice but to drag myself to the store for a whole chicken and some celery.

This recipe is made in a pressure cooker and is really easy.  The hardest part is not eating all the chicken as you shred it!  Here we go:

Ingredients:

1 Whole Chicken, 4-5 lbs, quartered (I had the butcher at the market quarter it for me)

Filtered water

2 tbsp kosher salt (I use Hawaiian sea salt)

2 cups celery, chopped

1-2 cups carrots, chopped

1 large onion, chopped

*Optional –

minced celery leaves, parsley sprigs, bay leaf, store-bought chicken broth

Directions:

(I’m not going to tell you how to use your cooker, as they can vary)

Place quarterd chicken in cooker (giblets and all).

Add salt and filtered water up to the max-fill line on your cooker.  Add bay leaf now.

Seal and bring cooker up to pressure (15 pounds).

Once pressure is reached, turn heat down to maintain pressure and set timer for 50 minutes.

Reduce pressure and pour chicken and broth through a strainer or colander.  Put broth back in pressure cooker.

Add veggies to broth, and top water back up to max-fill line (I had a carton of broth in the cupboard so I used that as well).  Seal and cook for 10 minutes (after pressure reached).

While veggies cook, debone the chicken.  It will be hot!  I give the dog all the skin and organs, though i suppose you could puree the organs in some broth and add it back if you like.  Shred it up as fine as you like, I tear into it with my hands.

After veggies are done, add chicken back in and simmer for a few minutes to reheat the chicken.

There you go! Fast and easy, and canned soup will never be good enough again!  I add a little bit of habenero sauce to my bowl for a serious sinus flush!

Got any good sick-day recipes? Link them in the comments!

