essl

I see this all the time, and it drives me NUTS!  People who are 30 or more pounds overfat jogging in sauna suits.  I’m the kind of person who never laughs at an overweight person exercising.  Heck, at least they’re trying.  And I know how it feels to be that fatty puffing down the road.  But the sauna suit kills me.  The sight of these people panting in the Hawaii sun, sweat pouring down their bright red faces, makes me want to find the guy at the sporting goods store that let them walk out with that glorified trash bag and tell him what’s up.

I know, they are intended for hardcore athletes who need to drop water to make weight for whatever sport they are in.  And yes, they work great for that.  But for someone who doesn’t know the ins and outs of weight loss, or the difference between water weight and fat, these things are just dangerous.  Dehydrating yourself when you are already obviously not in the best health to begin with?  So you can jump on the scale after your death-march and say “Woo-Hoo! I lost 5 pounds!”, then wake up the next morning just as heavy as you were before and start all over.  I feel bad for these people because they need direction, and they just aren’t going to get that if their primary info source is gimmick marketers.

Wanna lose water weight?  Cut your carb intake for a few days.  Beats the hell out of hour a day of Hefty bag torture.

